在曼哈頓下城的公認領導力
建基於曼哈頓下城的年輕領導

李金枝出生於香港,年輕時隨父母移民到紐約市。成長的過程中,她見證了祖父母和父母經營小生意的艱難,她的祖母則在唐人街的製衣廠工作了20多年。
2003年,Gigi成為她的家庭中第一個大學畢業的成員,她在史密斯學院獲得了學士學位。受到服務社區的號召,金枝畢業後的第一份工作是在紐約亞裔婦女中心(現為Womankind)擔任受家庭暴力影響的兒童和家庭的顧問/維權者。見證到一些案主在需要時難以獲得幫助,使她對政策和官僚主義感到沮喪。因此,金枝從哥倫比亞大學社會工作學院考取了一個以政策為重點的社會工作理學碩士學位,希望可以通過改變政策更全面有效的幫助民眾。

碩士學位畢業後,金枝在“鄰里家庭服務聯盟”(Neighborhood Family Services Coalition)工作了十年,致力於為兒童,青年和家庭提供優質服務。她的主要職責是指導聯盟在青少年發展/課餘服務方面的工作。其中包括組織集會,市政廳和政策簡報會,從而使全市SYEP的工作增加了三倍,並使社立於學校的Beacon社區中心的數量增加了一倍;她並在市長白思豪實施的”紐約市免費學前班“和“社區學校”計劃方面擔任了重要角色。
2009年,金枝被任命為曼哈頓第三社區委員會的成員,並於2012年6月成為紐約市首位當選為董事會主席的亞裔美國人。作為第三社區委員會的主席,金枝專注於以社區為基礎規劃和應對“颶風桑迪”之後的恢復和防洪挑戰。

在過去的兩年,金枝將她豐富的組織能力,公共政策知識和社區經驗投入到公共服務中,擔任一位紐約市議員的幕僚長。 金枝和她的丈夫林文偉(還有他們的小狗維托)居住在他們熱愛的曼哈頓下城區。

Proven Leadership in Lower Manhattan

Gigi was born in Hong Kong, and immigrated to New York City with her parents at a young age. Growing up, Gigi witnessed both her grandparents and parents run small businesses. Her grandmother worked for over 20 years in Chinatown’s garment factories.

In 2003, Gigi became the first in her family to graduate from college, earning her B.A. from Smith College. Motivated to serve her community, Gigi’s first job post graduation was at the NY Asian Women’s Center (now Womankind) as a counselor/advocate for children and families impacted by domestic violence. Frustrated with the policies and bureaucracy that made it difficult for her clients to get assistance in their time of need, Gigi obtained a Master’s of Science in Social work with a focus on policy from Columbia’s School of Social Work.

After graduate school, Gigi worked for a decade at Neighborhood Family Services Coalition, fighting for quality services for children, youth and families. Her primary responsibility was directing the Coalition’s work in youth development/afterschool services. This included organizing rallies, town halls, and policy briefings that resulted in tripling the SYEP jobs citywide, and doubling the number of Beacon school-based community centers. She was instrumental in the implementation of Mayor deBlasio’s UPKNYC and Community Schools initiative.

In 2009, Gigi was appointed to Manhattan’s Community Board 3 (CB 3), and became the first Asian American in New York City to be elected to serve as board chair in June 2012. As chair of CB 3, Gigi focused on community-based planning, and addressing recovery and resiliency challenges after Superstorm Sandy.

For the past two years, Gigi has devoted her organizing, policy, and community experience to public service, as a chief of staff to a NYC Councilmember.  Gigi and her husband Wen Wei (and of course their pug, Vito), are proud residents of downtown Manhattan.